Anti-Racism Workshop:
Let's talk about racism

It's time to talk about anti-racism

There is a lot of talk about racism right now. As a non-affected person, do you have the feeling that it is not that easy to get started with the topic? Do you have questions but are not sure whom to address them to? Ask me - your diversity coach! In my workshop 'Let's Talk About Racism' you will find a safe space to ask your questions and to take the first steps towards thinking that is critical of racism.

Learn, listen, ask questions - now is the time!

Let's talk about racism with Ellen Wagner

info

Example of an agenda:

  • Intro

  • What is racism

  • What does PoC or BIPoC mean?

  • What are microagressions? What is everyday racism?

  • What is 'White Privilege'? What is being white?

  • What is an ally? What can be done specifically?

  • Feedback round & conclusion

Target group: A learning space for people with and without racism experience.

Duration: on request

Where: virtual zoom

Language: English or German

Inquiries for groups/companies/organizations: here.

Download my flyer: here.

Small glossary

black

The term black is a self-designation and does not refer to a person's biological characteristics, but to their position in a social construct. Black is capitalized to make it clear that it's not about skin color, but about a constructed assignment. Accordingly, being black does not mean to be assigned to an assumed 'ethnic group', but also to be connected to the common experience of racism

Doctors, philosophers, and anthropologists such as Bernier, Linne, Buffon or Kant divided people into races and derived stages of development based on skin color and assigned certain psychological characteristics to them. So people with darker skin color were worth less, less civilized, and more stupid than whites (Zerger, Johannes, 1997, What is racism ?: an introduction).

You can find more about formulation aids here: www.neuemedienmacher.de

 

BIPOC - Black Indigenous Person of Color

The term BIPOC is a self-designation and stands for Black, Indigenous, Person, or People of Color. He brings together almost all of those people who have experienced racism and acknowledges that not all non-white people are confronted with the same level of injustice. By specifically naming blacks and indigenous people by name, it recognizes that blacks and indigenous people face the dire consequences of systemic white supremacy, classism, and the consequences of colonialism.

My recommendations for articles, literature, and films: here.

Anti-Rassismus Workshop:
Let's Talk About Racism

Es ist Zeit für Anti-Rassismus

Derzeit wird viel über Rassismus diskutiert. Als nicht-betroffene Person haben Sie aber das Gefühl, dass es gar nicht so einfach ist einen Einstieg ins Thema zu finden? Sie haben Fragen, wissen aber nicht so recht an wen Sie diese richten können? Fragen Sie mich – Ihre Diversity Coach! In meinem Workshop ‚Let’s Talk About Racism‘ finden Sie einen sicheren Raum, um Ihre Fragen zu stellen und erste Schritte in Richtung rassismuskritisches Denken zu gehen.

Lernen Sie, hören Sie zu, stellen Sie Fragen – jetzt ist genau der richtige Zeitpunkt dafür!

Let's talk about racism with Ellen Wagner

Info

Beispiel einer Agenda:

  • Intro

  • Was ist Rassismus?

  • Was bedeutet PoC bzw. BIPoC?

  • Was sind Mikroagressionen? Was ist Alltagsrassismus?

  • Was ist ‚White Privilege‘? Was ist Weiß sein?

  • Was ist ein Ally? Was kann konkret getan werden?

  • Feedbackrunde & Abschluss

Zielgruppe: Ein Lernraum für Menschen ohne und mit Rassismuserfahrun.

Dauer: auf Anfrage

Wo: Virtuell Zoom

Sprache: Deutsch oder Englisch

Anfragen für Gruppen / Unternehmen / Organisationen: hier.

Download meines Flyers: hier.

Kleines Glossar

Schwarz

Der Begriff Schwarz ist eine Selbstbezeichnung und bezieht sich nicht auf biologische Merkmale einer Person, sondern auf ihre Position in einem sozialen Konstrukt. Schwarz wird großgeschrieben, um zu verdeutlichen, dass es nicht um die Hautfarbe geht, sondern um eine konstruierte Zuordnung. Demnach bedeutet Schwarz-Sein nicht, einer angenommenen 'ethnischen Gruppe' zugeordnet zu werden, sondern auch mit der gemeinsamen Rassismuserfahrung verbunden zu sein

Ärzte, Philosophen sowie Anthropologen wie Bernier, Linne, Buffon oder Kant unterteilten Menschen in Rassen und leiteten anhand der Hautfarbe Entwicklungsstufen ab und sprachen ihnen bestimmte psychische Merkmale zu. So waren Menschen mit dunklerer Hautfarbe weniger wert, unzivilisierter und dümmer als Weiße (Zerger, Johannes, 1997, Was ist Rassismus?: eine Einführung).

Mehr zu Formulierungshilfen finden Sie hier: www.neuemedienmacher.de

 

BIPoC – Black Indigenous Person of Color

Der Begriff BIPoC ist eine Selbstbezeichnung und steht für Black, Indigenous, Person oder People of Color. Er fast all jene Menschen zusammen, die von Rassismuserfahrungen betroffen sind und erkennt an, dass nicht alle nicht-weißen Menschen mit dem gleichen Maß an Ungerechtigkeit konfrontiert werden. Indem Schwarze und Indigene ausdrücklich beim Namen genannt werden wird anerkannt, dass Schwarze und Indigene mit den schlimmsten Folgen der systemischen weißen Vorherrschaft (White Supremacy), des Klassismus und den Folgen des Kolonialismus konfrontiert sind.

Meine Empfehlungen für Artikel, Literatur und Filme: hier.