Expat & Diversity Coach Ellen Wagner

About me

 

The idea of ​​starting my own business as a diversity coach arose not only from a deep desire for change for society, but also from very personal needs. As an adopted child and thus the only BIPoC member in my white family, I experienced the barriers early on that meet a person who is perceived as different and strange. At the same time, the balancing act between the two worlds gave me the opportunity to look at both perspectives and recognize the causes. I realized that a balancing act can basically also be a bridge that unites two apparently opposing worlds.

 

By starting to see my being different as an advantage, I created opportunities that were previously denied to me. After completing a master’s degree in business psychology and other positions, e.g. as a lecturer at the IST University of Management, I finally moved to Princeton, New Jersey with my wife and our daughter in 2019.

 

Here I founded cross cultural bridges - wagner coaching LLC, intercultural diversity coaching and workshops for private individuals and companies in Germany and the US.

 

My goal is to create a world, and especially a work enviroment, in which we learn to see otherness as enrichment. A world in which women and members of the BIPoC and LGBTQI community no longer have to raise their voices to emphasize their value to our society. A world in which equality will be so natural that one day my work will no longer be necessary.

 

 

Professional background:

 

Certified Systemic Coach & Change Manager

INeKO Institute at the University of Cologne for the development of personal and interpersonal skills

 

Lecturer, trainer & author for Tourism & Hospitality Management

IST University of Management, IST Study Institute

 

Master of Arts in Business Psychology (2021)

Focus: talent management

 

Over 22 years of experience in the service industry

Lived in England, Greece, Tunisia, Spain, and currently the US

 

Mentor & Volunteer

Afro German Academic Network: ADAN e. V., Bayard Rustin Center for Social Justice, Princeton; MentorMe, Berlin; New Jersey LGBT Chamber of Commerce

  • Grau LinkedIn Icon
  • Grau Facebook Icon
  • Grau Twitter Icon
  • Grau Icon Instagram
  • Grau YouTube Icon
icflogocolor.jpg
FIGT_CMYK[12871].jpg

© Copyright 2019-2020 Ellen Wagner

Expat & Diversity Coach Ellen Wagner

Über mich

Die Idee mich als Diversity Coach selbstständig zu machen entsprang nicht nur aus dem tiefen Wunsch nach Wandel für die Gesellschaft, sondern auch aus ganz persönlichen Bedürfnissen heraus. Als adoptiertes Kind und somit einzige BIPoC Angehörige in meiner weißen Familie erlebte ich früh die Barrieren, die einem Menschen begegnen, der als anders und als fremd empfunden wird. Gleichzeitig entstand für mich im dem Spagat zwischen beiden Welten die Möglichkeit, beide Perspektiven zu betrachten und Ursachen zu erkennen. Ich erkannte, dass ein Spagat im Grunde genommen auch eine Brücke sein kann, die zwei scheinbar gegensätzliche Welten miteinander vereint.

Indem ich begann meine Andersartigkeit als Vorteil anzusehen, schaffte ich mir Möglichkeiten, die mir bislang verwehrt geblieben sind. Nach einem Masterstudium in Wirtschaftspsychologie und weiteren Stationen wie z.B. als Dozentin an der IST Hochschule für Management, zog ich schließlich im Jahre 2019 mit meiner Frau und unserer Tochter nach Princeton, New Jersey.

 

Hier gründete ich cross cultural bridges – wagner coaching LLC, interkulturelles Diversity Coaching und Workshops für Privatpersonen und Unternehmen in Deutschland und im Großraum USA.

 

Mein Ziel ist es, eine Welt und insbesondere eine Arbeitswelt zu schaffen, in der wir lernen Andersartigkeit als Bereicherung zu sehen. Eine Welt, in der Frauen und Angehörige der BIPoC und LGBTQI Community ihre Stimme nicht mehr erheben müssen, um ihren Wert für unsere Gesellschaft hervorzuheben. Eine Welt, in der Gleichberechtigung so selbstverständlich sein wird, dass meine Arbeit eines Tages gar nicht mehr notwendig sein wird.  

 

 

Berufliche Stationen:​

Zertifizierte Systemische Coach & Change Managerin

INeKO Institut an der Universität zu Köln für die Entwicklung personaler und interpersonaler Kompetenzen

 

Dozentin, Trainerin & Autorin für Tourism & Hospitality Management

IST Hochschule für Management, IST Studieninstitut

 

Master of Arts Wirtschaftspsychologie (2021)

Schwerpunkt: Talentmanagement

 

Über 22 Jahre Erfahrung in der Dienstleistungsbranche

Gelebt in England, Griechenland, Tunesien, Spanien und derzeit den USA

 

Mentorin & Volunteer

Afro Deutsches Akademiker Netzwerk: ADAN e. V., Bayard Rustin Center for Social Justice, Princeton; MentorMe, Berlin; New Jersey LGBT Chamber of Commerce